Brendan

Today I got to finally talk to Brendan for the first time.   I’ve been anticipating it since I found out on Thursday he is my partner and teammate for the DFMC team.   I was lucky enough to get matched with Brendan thanks to the Patient Partner Program.  

The reason Brendan was partnered with me is because on December 30, 2009, he was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia.  Brendan was immediately admitted to Children’s Hospital in Boston where he spent four weeks undergoing intensive chemotherapy treatments.  Brendan is thankfully in remission, but he must still undergo two years of aggressive chemotherapy to help ensure the cancer doesn’t return. 

You can follow Brendan’s journey and find out more about him at http://www.caringbridge.com/visit/brendanbarrie and http://www.brendansbuddies.org/.

The Blog

I created this blog for Brendan and me.  All my future entries will be conversions between two team mates.    I welcome anyone to follow along and check in often.    I’m sure along the way there will be plenty of talk about running and training, Legos and food (especially teriyaki chicken) , cancer and treatment,  good days and bad…and yes the weather.  But most of all, it will be about two people teaching each other about living life.

This entry was posted in Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

