My New Reflective Vest

Good morning Brendan,

I wore my new reflective vest today while running.  It is still dark when I head out for my morning runs.  I try to wear bright clothing and some of my running clothes have reflective material in it.  I don’t know how well it works because I do a lot of directing traffic than I should while running.

My wife was getting a little nervous with me running while it is dark out and was afraid I might get hit by a car not being able to see me.  So, she gave me a reflective vest.  When I took it out of the package it looked small and a little “School Crossing Guard” like, but I put it on anyway.  It seemed to work well.  I noticed cars moving to their left sooner and with less surprise.

I didn’t have a planned route today.   I just knew I needed at least 6 miles.  I ran a route that I was familiar with and added another mile or so on to it.  I ran with a moderate pace trying not to push it too much.  It’s early in the training and my muscles are not used to the increased miles and the cold.  I’m trying to have an injury free season for once.

Hope you had a good day at school.  I think tomorrow will definitely be a snow day for you. 

– Patrick

My new reflective vest

RM: 6.5 (Gardner St)
WM: 18.0
TM:  18.0

This entry was posted in Training, Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My New Reflective Vest

  1. Liz Pearson says:

    Hi Patrick!

    I am Brendan’s grandmother (Alexis’ mom). I think this is so wonderful that you are running for Brendan. He is one amazing kid! I think you and Brendan will be able to teach each other a lot. I know his family is looking forward to meeting you in a few weeks. I am going to be sending out an email to my office and all my friends. re: that you are running for Brendan and hopefully will get some $ for you. Is it o.k. if I give out this blog address? I work for the Dept. of Children and Families in Arlington and have been there for 28 yrs this month! Thank you again for this and I am looking forward to meeting you in the future.

    Liz

  2. Patrick says:

    Hi Liz,

    Thank you for your kind words. I’m looking forward to meeting Brendan and his family too. Please feel free to send this blog address to anyone. I hope to update it at least once a day. I’m hoping Brendan will be able to send a few posts too.

    Thanks again.

    Patrick

  3. Pingback: Centered | Dana-Farber Marathon Challenge 2011

Leave a Reply

