A Little Foggy

 

 

 

 

 

Hi Brendan,

I heard the news from your mom that you are on hold for chemo yet another week. I feel bad that you were not able to start. I know it is frustrating for you. She told me your numbers are looking a lot better and with some luck you should be able to resume your chemo next week.

Your mom also said your CD4 levels were much better than they have been so this means you are good for the DFMC party on Saturday! It should be fun and I’m looking forward to seeing you there. We have a big task ahead of us creating the marathon poster. Just to warn you, I am one of those people who think an 8 Count Crayola box already has too many crayons in it. I know how inventive you are with Legos, so I definitely think you will be the creative lead for our poster design.

I’ve had some trouble getting good quality training runs in lately. I only have 23 miles in this week. So I made sure I got out there this morning….for a spooky run.

Thanks to daylight saving time, the sun doesn’t rise until almost 7am again. When I stepped out of my house, I noticed the dense fog. It seemed thicker due to the darkness from no street lights. I don’t think I could see more than 20 yards in front of me.   Continuing along my way, I could barely see the houses and the sounds of nature seemed to echo of them. Just when I started to realize just how little I could see, I startled some nocturnal creature who then returned the gesture and scared the “you know what” out of me! That surely helped get the blood going.

Once I got on the main road it reminded me of some of the earlier snow covered runs. I had to make sure each of the cars saw me in the fog. I could hear my dad’s voice in my head telling me to get a light to wear while running. I should have listened to him because it would have come in handy this morning. I’ll have to add that to my shopping list.

Toward the end of my run the fog started to lift and the dawn sky started to brighten. Returning to my neighborhood once again, I thought how different it looked. It pretty amazing how quickly things can change for the better.

Hang in there.

-Patrick

RM: 8.25
WM: 23.25
TM:  318.25

This entry was posted in Leukemia, Treatment, Update and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

